Whole30 Day 2

I keep forgetting to take pictures of my food!  I swear, I’ll try harder.

Do you remember me complaining about the food journaling component?  Well I talked to my team leader and he really made me feel better about the whole thing.  Basically, I told him that I eat 95% from scratch and entering every component of things like mayo is tremendously tedious.  He started to say I could just estimate it, but then when we talked a little more, he was like “Look, I’m not doing it either because I cook.  Really this is about having people who have only eaten processed food their whole life reexamine what they are putting in their bodies.  If you don’t need the help, don’t sweat it.”  And like that, I let myself off the hook.  Such a relief.  It really makes me feel like I’m “on a diet” (with all the negative connotations that conjures up) when I food journal.  I just want to eat whole, real, healthy foods and not have to think about exactly what my breakdown of macronutrients are.

I’m going to attempt to blog almost everything I put in my mouth and that’s how I’ll keep myself accountable.

We left off yesterday with breakfast.  For lunch I had a bunch of cut up vegetables and I used some of the leftover artichoke pesto as a dip.  I also cut up another chorizo sausage.  I forgot to take a picture but since my lunch today is nearly identical, you’ll get to see a picture tomorrow. 😉

Dinner was awesome!  dinner day 2

Rob works a little late on Tuesdays so I had plenty of time to tinker in the kitchen.  If you can believe it, this smorgasbord was entirely planned – not my usual refrigerator dump.  It was my paleo take on a antipasto platter.  Let’s see, it was proscuitto, melon wrapped in proscuitto, soppressata, roasted asparagus (cold, roasted it yesterday), olives, roasted red peppers rolled up with sundried tomato and olive tapenade, deviled eggs, arugula salad with evoo and reduced balsamic, sweet potato chips from the oven and just a touch of eggplant dip.  And yes, in case you’re wondering, this piglet ate the whole thing.  No shame.  My only side note is that this was a lot of salt/sodium.  Next time I don’t think it would hurt to add a few more lightly seasoned veg and a little less salty olives and salted meats.  Just a personal preference.

This morning started a little rough.  I drank some green tea.  Occasionally when I drink this on an empty stomach it makes me extremely nauseous.  To combat that I usually eat just a little bit of food -a couple slices of apple or almond coconut drops – but this morning it didn’t help.  I just switched brands of green tea and that might be to blame.  I’ll see tomorrow.  But for today, half a cup of green tea left me wanting to puke, so the first hour or so of the morning wasn’t so hot.

When I got to work I gobbled down a hard boiled egg, the rest of the apple from this morning, some almond butter and a handful of blackberries.  As I was shoving the last bite into my mouth, I realized I hadn’t taken a picture.  Sorry!  It’s going to take me some time to remember to do that every time I eat!

 

Leave a comment