Whole30 Day 4

So I’m just trucking along with this Whole30.  So far it’s been pretty easy, but I know better than to think it will stay that way.  We are heading into the weekend and that’s when everything can go down the drain.  But for now, things are good.  My meal planning worked out 100% until now.  I know tonight’s dinner is kind of on hold though.  I have plans to meet up with some friends at a place that is decidedly non-compliant so i have to figure out what to eat before I go.  The dinner I planned probably will take too much time.  We’ll see.

I forgot to take a picture of my lunch again.  It was leftover flank steak and grilled vegetables.  I supplemented it with mussels that were part of the staff lunch because I could be 100% sure they were paleo… and I love mussels.  I forget to take pictures because I’m just so excited to eat!  Lunch is one of my favorite parts of the day.  It used to be something I dreaded a little bit.  I would sit at my desk alone, trying to work and eat and not really enjoying either.  Recently, due to a combination of now sharing my office and a conscious decision to separate lunch from work, lunch is suddenly so much fun.  My coworkers stop by and we eat together and talk all about food.  Complete food nerds in the house.  It’s the type of conscious food eating that I think is so critical to having a healthy relationship with food.  I never thought it would be the case, but when I eat this way, I eat less, stop before I stuff myself and actually enjoy the food more.  Sounds like a win-win.

Dinner was a classic (with a twist) for our house.  We had shrimp scampi with zoodles.  It is the fastest, easiest paleo meal I know how to make.  You can literally go from frozen shrimp to sitting down for dinner in about 15 minutes.  I always have a bag of shrimp in the freezer for nights when I’m too busy or my meal plan fell apart.  All the rest of the ingredients are things we always have in the house: olive oil, lemons, parsley, aleppo pepper, zucchini and garlic.  Boom!  Dinner is ready. dinner day 4

I also was really excited to try out this recipe for paleo naan from My Heart Beets. paleo tortillas It was incredibly easy to make and actually worked perfectly.  We used them like tortillas for some of the extra shrimp.  Next week, I’ll probably do something different with the batter.  Because the recipe uses so much starch, it really mimics the pliable-ness of wheat.  I feel so inspired to experiment.  Many of my paleo baked goods have been utter fail-eos.

I almost forgot to take a picture of breakfast this morning. breakfast day 5 I managed to catch it right at the end.  Just imagine this container being full of the same goodies.  Side note:  my mayo keeps breaking.  I have made mayo a hundred times (only a slight exaggeration – it was my job at both restaurants where I worked) and rarely have trouble with it breaking.  But lately, every time I make it, it breaks.  Sometimes it looks good for 24 hours and then it falls apart.  I can’t figure out what’s going on.  It’s making me insane!  And costing me a fortune in eggs and oil.  I’m determined to keep trying because homemade mayo is 10000% better.  I’m just getting so frustrated!!

 

Leave a Reply

