Whole30 Day 3

Ok, I did slightly better.  I forgot to take a picture of lunch (again) but I managed to get one of dinner and breakfast.

Lunch yesterday, was raw vegetables with leftover artichoke lemon pesto and tuna with homemade aioli.  Couple of thoughts:  The raw veg and pesto was so great on Tuesday but by yesterday I was over it.  Why am I so fickle?  But now that I realize I am, it should help me plan better.  In the past, one of the things that derailed me was lunch.  If I’m not excited to eat the lunch I bring, I end up eating the lunch provided – i mean, heck, it’s free and usually super delicious – but the lunch provided rarely supports my dietary goals.  So I have to make my lunches pretty awesome to find my inner glutton.  Second thought: I love tuna packed in oil.  It’s so much more flavorful.  This tuna actually came with chopped jalapenos in it.  It was a good change of pace but definitely not my go-to.

Dinner could have easily not happened.  I had a long day at work and then a pretty crappy treadmill run and I was really not feeling it.  That’s where this challenge is coming in handy.  I feel obligated to not let my laziness take over.  I remember how hard it is to eat Whole30 in a restaurant, so I feel tied to cooking at home and once I get started, it’s really not that bad. dinner day 3

I rubbed a flank steak with Magic Mushroom Powder (from the Nom Nom Paleo cookbook) and grilled it.  I also scrounged around for some vegetables to grill.  I ended up with zucchini, mushrooms and some cauliflower tossed with curry powder.  I also whipped up a quick guacamole and topped it with a few grape tomatoes.  This was not my most cohesive meal but it sure did make me happy.

This morning I had some green tea in the wee hours.  Luckily it didn’t upset my stomach this morning.  I guess yesterday was just a fluke.  When I got to work, I ate this: breakfast day 4

Correction, I am still eating it.  Cherries with pits take me forever to eat and I have no idea why.  I guess it’s a good thing though because then my breakfast is extended over and hour instead of a quick 10 minute mouth-shoveling endeavor.

In other news, my fitbit came yesterday.  fitbitI’m not entirely sure that I love it, but I’m still figuring it out.  Is it just me or does this seems like a really expensive and really stylish pedometer?  I mean it doesn’t do a whole lot.  I do like the vibrating alarm feature.  I wake up so early in the morning and Rob is such a light sleeper that I always feel a little guilty when my alarm goes off.  This way I hopefully won’t wake him.  I’m not 100% sure it will wake me though because this morning I woke up before the alarm went off.  Anyway, I’m going to keep trying it and see what else it can do.

Leave a comment